Author Topic: The Drawing line thingie  (Read 7132 times)

Toffee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Stargate babylon game development site
The Drawing line thingie
« on: September 08, 2007, 07:49:07 AM »
Well, I'm the only user experiencing this issue, but it happens on 2 Computers so I thought it's worth looking into.
What do you use to create the drawing line thing (or DLT :)) maybe if you used a different method it'd still work on everyone elses computers but also mine =] (not being selfish)
For the record: I'm on a faulty Graphics card on my Laptop (which could have been the problem) but it also doesn't work on integrated graphics on a Dell dimension 1100. Both are running WXP SP2

I'll also test this on Vista soon (upgrading)
Games designer.
Currently learning how to do it!

RMS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: The Drawing line thingie
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2007, 10:11:22 AM »
There are two possibilities that I can think of:

1) Your graphics card doesn't support the OpenGL line smooth hint, and turning it on breaks something

2) Your graphics card doesn't support drawing directly to the front buffer

(1) is easy to fix, (2) is quite a bit harder to fix, but might be do-able. Anyway I'm hoping it's (1). I will turn off the line smoothing hint in future releases...

Toffee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Stargate babylon game development site
Re: The Drawing line thingie
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2007, 03:10:23 PM »
Ok, so you use OpenGL to render the lines?

FYI, Try keeping the effects on the line to the minimum as Vista really hates OpenGL (it's all emulated through DirectX so could pose problems) will let you know soon what the effects are
Games designer.
Currently learning how to do it!

RMS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: The Drawing line thingie
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2007, 10:25:52 PM »
OpenGL is only emulated on Vista if your graphics card doesn't have proper drivers:

http://www.opengl.org/pipeline/article/vol003_9/


Toffee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Stargate babylon game development site
Re: The Drawing line thingie
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2007, 02:05:22 PM »
Well, Vista is installed on my Dell 1100 (lowest model ever  :'()
The blue line works on this. Very strange.
Games designer.
Currently learning how to do it!